Award Recipients


Special Olympics Connecticut will hold its 20th Annual Hall of Fame Dinner on Wednesday, March 22nd to recognize its extraordinary athletes, volunteers and sponsors for their dedication, leadership, spirit and support. 
The event will take place at the Aqua Turf Country Club, 556 Mulberry Street, Plantsville. Registration will begin at 5 p.m. and the program will begin at 6 p.m. Rob Dibble from ESPN Radio, an iHeart Radio Connecticut station, will be conducting a live broadcast at the event. Renee DiNino from iHeart Radio Connecticut and Brad Field from NBC Connecticut will serve as emcees.
The Hall of Fame Dinner is made possible through the generosity of the Bozzuto and Calvanese families. The theme of this year's event is "Rise Up." Reservations must be made in advance by emailing The cost is $30 per person.
This year's awards and award recipients include:
Outstanding Local Program - Special Olympics Oxford
Hall of Fame Awards
Eunice Murtha Award - Shane Fitzsimons
Community Leadership Award - NBC Connecticut
Lew Perkins Coach Award - Derrick Ford
Sheila Schmidt Award - Joseph Dennin
Bozzuto Family Award - The Kopcso Family
Susan Saint James Award - Catherine Kortlandt
Eunice Kennedy Shriver Award - Sharon Rivera
Spirit of Life Awards
Vincent Acquaotta
Martin Cruz
Warren Hartleb
John Turbeville
Jonathan Brangi
Lizzie Reynolds
Paige Beardsworth
Amari Denzel Timmons
Unsung Hero Awards
Bob Switzgable
Rob DeMezzo
Chris Keever
Tom Martin
Tahj McCall
Renee DiNino
Dr. Christopher Agro
Michelle Plucenik
Jarrod Viens
Katherine Kalisz
Joseph Herten 

President’s Awards are presented to those who have made outstanding contributions to Special Olympics Connecticut.